Stage Awards - Recognition of Theatre Performances


Stage awards are handed out for quality in theatre and Stage performances throughout numerous classifications. The awards system varies from classification to classification - e.g. performance, musicals, dramas, operas and so on. Some have closed elections kept an eye on by a committee or board while some have open choice and election procedures. The requirements for awards choice likewise differs throughout classifications.


Let's have a look at a few of the Stage Award Winners. Classifications such as Regional Theatre of the Year, London Theatre of the Year, and Fringe Theatre of the Year were a few of them. Besides these, award classifications like Producer of the Year, Theatre School of the Year, and Theatre Building of the Year value the efforts of people, arts schools and theatre places that contribute as an entire to the occasions.




A take a look at popular theatre awards in New York for example raise huge names like:

- Tony Award

- Drama Desk Award

- Drama League Award

- Clarence Derwent rewards

- New York Drama Critics' Circle rewards

- Theatre World Award

- New York Innovative Theatre rewards

And so on. Broadway in New York is the home of the theatre market in the nation and is a distinguished name in theatre and performance. A few of the other awards from around the United States are Carbonell Awards, Backstage West Garland Awards. Elliott Norton Awards, Ivey Awards, LA Weekly Theatre Award, NAACP Theatre rewards, Ovation Awards, Sarah Siddons reward and so forth.




In the UK, London is the premier area for theatre and performance and a few of the distinguished awards here are Laurence Olivier Awards, London Critics' Circle Awards. Evening Standard rewards, Technical Theatre Awards.


While the majority of the above are provided for individual performances in lead functions and for quality in a number of technical elements that enter into the production, there are Stage management awards that commemorate quality and exceptional accomplishment in Production & Stage Management both individual and group.


The Schmidt and Jones Awards


These rewards are called after Harvey Schmidt and Tom Jones, developers of the longest running program in American theatre history, The Fantasticks. An initial Broadway production of the program ran for 42 years showcasing 17,165 performances. Honouring quality in musical theatre produced by schools in Texas counties through a panel of judges that include theatre specialists and teachers, the awards are given up numerous classifications - individual and group performances, design, music, props, production and so on - but the awards are distributed just to trainees. The Schmidt and Jones Awards have offered the golden chance to North Texas theatre trainees to display their skill and abilities and accomplish acknowledgment with a Tony reward feel.


The Ovation Awards

In Los Angeles, the Ovation rewards which was put together to commemorate and honor the theatre neighborhood, are the only peer-judged awards. Yearly, 35 different classifications are acknowledged and granted through a ballot system and getting among them is a definitely considerable acknowledgment point for theatre artists and folks.


Copyright 2017 , All rights are reserved.